RSS

Vermicelli Payasam/ Kheer

10 Jul
Vermicelli Payasam/ Kheer

It’s been a month since I started my blog …

IMG_4791

Blogging is teaching me how to express myself in different ways, through food, photography and also helping me out with my writing (which I hardly do). I have started experimenting with new recipes or adapting from others, which I normally would never have done.

For me it has always been my husband and now my son who think that I cook the best. But now, a lot of other people who I don’t even know think so too.

Anyway, I am loving my new experience!!!

IMG_4792

Ingredients:

Vermicelli                                                               –              1 cup

Whole Milk                                                             –              1 litre

Sugar                                                                     –              ¼ cup

Cardamoms(powdered)                                            –              3-4 pcs

Cashews/ almonds(broken)                                      –              6-8 pcs

Raisins                                                                   –              6-8 pcs

Saffron                                                                    –              a small pinch

Ghee                                                                      –              2 tbsps

IMG_4795

Method:

Heat a tablespoon of ghee in a deep pan and add the vermicelli to it.

Fry the vermicelli in the ghee till they are slightly golden brown in color. Make sure to stand with the vermicelli while frying as they can burn easily.

Add the whole milk into the vermicelli and let it boil. Once the milk comes to a boil, lower the heat and keep stirring the milk, frequently.

When the milk is reduced to almost half, add the sugar to the milk. (Adjust sugar according to your preference.)

Keep stirring the mixture for further 5-10 minutes till all the sugar has dissolved.

Heat a small pan with the remaining ghee and fry the cardamom pieces, cashews/ almonds and raisins till the cashews are slightly golden brown and the raisins have puffed up.

Pour this into the milk mixture

Cool the kheer/ payasam in a refrigerator and serve garnished with almond slivers and saffron.

IMG_4804

 

 

 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

